A couple weeks ago, I got together with some of my crafty friends to make terrariums.  My friend, Deb, showed us how and got together the supplies.  They all turned out so cute!  Now I’m on a terrarium kick – I want to make a big one for my fireplace mantel.

Here’s the basics if you want to make one of your own.  We used a variety of glass containers purchased from a thrift shop – if you find a vase you like without a top, try finding a smaller glass vase that will rest on top.  Put a layer of clean pebbles on the bottom.  Cover with a layer of charcoal (to help take away any smells) and then a layer of potting soil.  Now you are ready to plant!  I love moss terrariums and you can find plenty of moss for free all over Portland.  You can also go to your local nursery and use ground covers, sedums, violets.  Water till moist and ta-da! Remove lid if your terrarium has too much water and let air out – otherwise you can leave the lid on and go make more.  : )

Those are the steps we used, but I’m sure you can find more info about making these online or at a nursery if you need more info.

Happy planting,

Rachel

DSC07325.JPG

DSC07326.JPGDSC07332.JPG

DSC07329.JPG