Dogwood 5 x 5

Portland Open Studios 2009

October 10, 11, 17, 18

Watch 100 Portland artists at work!

I have always wanted to do something like this, but living in a second story apartment and working all over the living room didn’t quite feel right for having a tour group through.  But, this year we have a house and the space to invite people in!  I’m really excited to be a part of the Portland Open Studios this year.  Come by to see me work on a painting and show examples of how I create layers in my work.  I will also have lots of cute paintings available for purchase, some type of little freebie for stopping in, and even a ‘seconds’ area with some deals.

The $15 Tour Guides also serve as a 16 month calendar (good through 2010) and are available at all New Seasons, Art Media, participating artists and many retail locations throughout the Portland metro area.  For a complete list of retail locations, see portlandopenstudios.com If you would like to only stop by my studio during this time, but do not wish to purchase the guide to see the other artists, email me and I’ll send you my address so you can stop by.

Here’s some more info provided by Portland Open Sudios:

100 artists open their studio doors and invite the public in to witness art in the making. From painting, ceramics, sculpting, printmaking to paper-making and building musical instruments; from  blown sugar sculptures to blown glass sculptures to sculptures made from human hair; from functional objects to objects created for their own sake — Portland Open Studios artists cover the gamut in mediums,  forms, and functions.

All east side artists are open October 10 & 11, 10am-5pm.

All west side artists are open October 17 & 18, 10am-5pm.

Many artists on both east and west sides are open all 4 days.

Read the blog for more information about individual artists and the
interesting demos they have planned: http://portlandopenstudios.wordpress.com/