One of my favorite things about living were we do, is that we can walk to the Portland Rhododendron Garden.  I admit that I was not a big fan of the rhodies before becoming a frequent visitor to this place.  They seem overused, everyone has a couple in the front yard, but this garden won me over.  I love walking among the older ones pruned tall like trees.  We stopped over on mother’s day and everything is looking so pretty, blooms everywhere.  There was a plant sale – I picked up that ground cover pictured last, Anemone nemorosa ‘Vestal’, to plant under the rhododendron in my own yard -and a best in show display of flowers people entered.  I found that pretty sweet.  If you have a chance, try to visit this month while the garden is at it’s finest.  Admission is free Tuesdays and Wednesdays otherwise it is $3.